panvasup.blogg.se

Linux mint bootable usb os x
Linux mint bootable usb os x








linux mint bootable usb os x
  1. #Linux mint bootable usb os x how to#
  2. #Linux mint bootable usb os x mac os#
  3. #Linux mint bootable usb os x install#
  4. #Linux mint bootable usb os x Pc#

#Linux mint bootable usb os x install#

If I can achieve this I will be delighted - the next stage is to install MacOS in the appropriate partition, for which I assume I need something in the boot partition to allow this. I am hoping that when partitioning has been done, I can restore these to the partitioned disc and carry on to the next stage. I have an external USB stick backup of Linux Mint OS created using Timeshift and, hopefully very soon, a backup of my data ( just over 200Gb) on an external USB disc built using grsync. I guess it would not be difficult to create a BRICK at this point. My understanding is that such partitioning is likely to erase the data and OS already on the disk although I’m not sure what happens to the boot partition, if there is one, at boot stage after partitioning. Oh dear, that’s 5 partitions already so I will need some logical partitions as well ! I still have the Mint USB stick to boot from in order to run Gparted - is that feasible?

  • One or more data partitions - the main data will be held using Linux, but I would like the flexibility to share some or all of the data between both OS’s.
  • A swap partition - which I think is a requirement (or at least a “should have”) for Linux.
  • A boot partition, which will allow me to default to Linux at boot stage or to select either Linux or the relevant MacOS at boot stage.
  • #Linux mint bootable usb os x how to#

    My question, therefore, is how to do a re-install of the same OS with my SSD partitioned into 4 or 5 segments: When I installed Mint, I foolishly allowed the install process to Erase the disc so that I effectively just have a single partition. I downloaded Linux Mint Cinnamon 20 using Balena Etcher on my MAC laptop and, after a bit of a struggle with boot options at restart (which seemed to work sometimes but not all the time), I installed Mint and have enjoyed learning a bit about it here and there while resolving the MBL problem.

    linux mint bootable usb os x

    With more time on my hands, a lockdown benefit, and a fairly urgent issue to resolve (more later), I am now back in the saddle.

    #Linux mint bootable usb os x Pc#

    The original intention was to install Linux as I had a Ubuntu PC some years ago until we moved to a smaller house & my better half persuaded me to get rid of it. I added a wireless mouse + keyboard combination and am very happy with the basic setup for learning how to use Linux. There is now no CD/DVD facility but there are 4 x USB2 (the slow version !) ports. It’s a lovely neat piece of kit - I think these were called all-in-one computers at one stage - and has been upgraded to 8Gb memory (the max) and has had a 500Gb SSD disc installed.

    #Linux mint bootable usb os x mac os#

    I picked up a 2009 Apple iMac running Mac OS (cannot remember which version at this time) for a song through local classified adverts. I’m new here, also new to Linux but loving it so far and want to learn much more - if you can be bothered please read the attached - any comments are welcome to stimulate discussion.










    Linux mint bootable usb os x